Apr 06, · Recently, I’ve been researching state lunch and break laws, as well as other work-hour related issues. In Ohio, the state law only regulates the meal breaks for employees under the age of State law mandates that minors under age 18 be given a . Ohio labor laws require employers to provide employees under the age of eighteen (18) a minute uninterrupted break when working more than five (5) consecutive hours. Ohio Rev. Code (C). Ohio does not require employers to provide breaks, including lunch breaks, for workers eighteen (18) years old or older.
Federal law requires only that an employer pay for certain time, even if it is designated as a break. It does not require employers to offer break time in the first place. Ohio Law: No Meal or Rest Breaks Required. Some states require employers to provide a meal break, Author: Lisa Guerin, J.D. Jan 01, · ½ hour, if work is for more than 5 hours per day, except when workday will be completed in 6 hours or less and there is mutual employer/employee consent to waive meal period. On-duty meal period counted as time worked and permitted only when .
Ohio Labor Laws: Breaks. In the state of Ohio, labor law for breaks specifies that employers are not obligated to give their employees a lunch or break unless they are under the age of According to the Ohio Revised Code (c), an employer must give a minor under the age of 18 a minute, unpaid break when working more than 5 hours at. Ohio Labor Laws. Ohio labor laws are designed to protect employees and employers alike. Employers are required by law to follow the Fair Labor Standards Act, passed by the U.S. Congress, which designates standards for wages and hours cinedivx.infoers are required to pay the highest minimum wage in their area.